Q&A

To celebrate the launch of Suol’s new T-shirt, we put some questions to Fritz Kalkbrenner the Berlin artist behind album Here Today Gone Tomorrow.

What projects have you got going on? Right now I’m planning the second single of my current album Here Today Gone Tomorrow, which was released in October. What are your musical inspirations? From Jazz to Soul to Hip Hop – all kinds of genres. I don’t see boundaries when it comes to music. What’s your favourite song lyric? ‘Darkness at the break of noon, Shadows even the silver spoon, The handmade blade, the child’s balloon, Eclipses both the sun and moon, To understand you know too soon, There is no sense in trying.’ From Bob Dylans’ It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding). What’s on your radar right now? The album Fields by Junip, Jose Gonzales’ band. The Japanese film Hana-bi (Fireworks), Midtown Grill restaurant in Amsterdam. Describe your dress sense / style: Casual basics, mostly black. Always Adidas, never Nike. Most visited blogs and websites? Lufthansa, Beatport, Suol, and my own site. Where do you live? Friedrichshain in Berlin, where I was born and raised. Show me a block around here and I tell you its story. Eggs – how do you them? Hard-boiled, of course. What would you do if you had a million hands? I would do my thing a 500,000 times quicker.

