Gather round…

words: ben

I fondly remember getting our first video recorder when I was 12 and shortly afterward my dad introducing me to Blaxploitation and ultimately, The Funk. Dad would regularly record Saturday night’s late movies for me to watch the following day and these included the likes of Sweet Sweetback’s Baadasssss Song, Superfly, Shaft and Carwash. Okay, the language may have been a little fruity at times for a 12 yr old, but all I really noticed were the clothes and soundtracks. All of which have just come flooding back to me upon watching the trailer for Black Dynamite. Unlike many other spoofs of the original 70’s films, this is one that’s totally spot on. If you didn’t know better you’d think this was actually made in the 70’s. It has the decor, the fashions, the hair styles, and classic lines like “He drives a $5000 car and wears $100 suits”. I think this could be the one to take Airplane’s crown as the king of spoofs…. Get down.

-1

